Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

Axone Saxophone Quartet - French music for saxophone quartet

INDE053

15,00 €

Add to cart


Notify me when available

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 loyalty point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of 0,50 €.

30 other products in the same category:

More info

Axone interprets today’s music with a never failing communicative enthusiasm, which naturally incites many composers to write numerous pieces of music for them, including Regis Campo, Sebastien Beranger and Sylvain Griotto.

Eugène Bozza

Andante et scherzo

1. Andante 4’33

2. Scherzo 2’56

 

Sébastien Béranger

3. Axiomes (Maqâm II) 8’02

 

Gabriel Pierné

4. Introduction et Variations sur une Ronde populaire8’37

 

Régis Campo

Tintamarre

5. I Vivace 3’42

6. II Presto 3’28

7. III Poco Allegro 4’03

8. IV Allegro Vivace 6’12

 

Sylvain Griotto

9-11. Les Fils du Métal 12’34

 

Comments

  • Track list
  • Booklet
  • Musique Française pour Quatuor de Saxophones

     

    Eugène Bozza

    Andante et scherzo

    1. Andante 4’33

    2. Scherzo 2’56

     

    Sébastien Béranger

    3. Axiomes (Maqâm II) 8’02

     

    Gabriel Pierné

    4. Introduction et Variations sur une Ronde populaire8’37

     

    Régis Campo

    Tintamarre

    5. I Vivace 3’42

    6. II Presto 3’28

    7. III Poco Allegro 4’03

    8. IV Allegro Vivace 6’12

     

    Sylvain Griotto

    9-11. Les Fils du Métal 12’34

     

    AXONE QUARTET

    Sharing a common passion for 20th century music,  the Axone saxophone quartet has been playing together since 1998. They started Axone when they were young musicians in Claude Delangle’s class at the Paris Conservatory (Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris). , There they could benefit from the advice of chamber music’s music specialists such as David Walter,  Pierre-Laurent Aimard,  Lazlo Hadady and Michel Moraguès., The quartet attracted a lot of attention in several competitions: they won Second prize at the European competition “Musiques d’ Ensemble de la FNAPEC” in 2002,  First prize at the “Forum Musical de Normandie” in 2004 and First prize in Almere Chamber music Competition in Netherlands in 2005. The Axone saxophone quartet has been invited to various music festivals both in France (festival de musique de Dinard-Côte d’ Emeraude, festival Jeunes Talents, festival du Comminges, Nouveaux Talents de Villers-sur-Mer, Les Grandes Heures de Saint-Emilion...) and abroad (Montenegro, Niger and Nigeria). They performed in “Les journées de la composition” in 2001 and 2005. Axone has been broadcast on French and Dutch radio (France Musique, Radio Classique) and also performed at Amsterdam Concertgebouw during Uitmarkt Festival. Axone Quartet won unanimous First prize for chamber music at Paris CNSMD in 2002. In 2003,  their integration into the “Cycle de Perfectionnement” met with unanimous approval., Through their travels round all repertoires from transcriptions to original works for saxophone quartet,  Axone interprets today’s music with a never failing communicative enthusiasm,  which naturally incites many composers to write numerous pieces of music for them: Luis Naon,  Juraj Valcuha,  Fabien Lévy,  Paul Frankhuijzen,  Régis Campo,  Sébastien Béranger,  Julien Dassié,  Antonin Servière etc..., Axone was Prize-winner of Meyer Foundation in 2005 and on that special occasion,  they recorded their first CD in the series “Jeunes Solistes du Conservatoire”. In the CD programme,  there are original works by Florent Schmitt,  Fuminori Tanada,  Juraj Valcuha but also the transcription of “String Quartet n°8 in C minor op.110” by Dmitri Chostakovitch., The Quartet also performed on a monographic recording devoted to Thierry Escaich in which they interpret his sax quartet “Le Bal”,  released under the label “Indésens”., 

    French Music, Axone Quartet

    Eugène Bozza : 1905-1991, Born in Nice in 1905,  Eugène Bozza started learning the violin with his father at a very early age before winning first Prizes for violin (1924),  orchestra conducting (1930) and composition (1934) at Paris Conservatoire. In 1934 he also won Rome first Prize. He conducted Paris Comic Opera from 1950 to 1948. Then he was appointed Head of Valenciennes Conservatory in 1950 where he stayed until 1975 and created the major part of his works., He wrote several operas,  symphonies and ballets but he owes his world renown to numerous pieces of chamber music in which he privileged wind instruments such as the saxophone.

    Andante et scherzo : 1938, Andante et Scherzo was dedicated to Marcel Mule Quartet,  just like l’Introduction et variations sur une ronde populaire by Gabriel Pierné. Written in a very French mind,  this piece of music does the lion’s share to the multiple facets of Adolphe Sax’s instrument.

    Sébastien Béranger : 1977, Born in Reims in 1977,  Sébastien Béranger performs his musical studies at Reims and Lille CRR. He then joins the composition class at Paris CNSMD where he meets Emmanuel Nunes,  Michaël Levinas,  Yann Geslin,  Luis Naón and Michelle Reverdy. He will win his analysis and composition Prizes there,  and will also achieve a cursus on new technologies as applied to composition. At the same time,  Sébastien Béranger carries on a research work on “Spectrum and Acoustic Reality Generating Curved Scales in XXth Century Music” and gets a Master’s Degree in Aesthetic and Science of Art at Lille University III. Another research work on “Parametric Spaces in Instrumental Music since 1950” under the supervision of Antoine Bonnet allows him to get a Doctorate in Musicology at Nice University (UNSA)., By means of Mathematics,  he goes on further studies on musical semiotics and on the generation of material by conceptualizing sound through graphic representation. He synthesizes,  confronts and merges the idioms of spectral music,  post-serialism and post-modal tendencies. As a sculptor would do,  he works on space as a metaphoric representation of the various musical scales: height,  length,  sound thickness., Coming up First Prizewinner of the International Lili and Nadia Boulanger’s Foundation,  he distinguishes himself in numerous European competitions and is selected for Ensemble Aleph’s third international forum of young composers., Sébastien Béranger is on privileged terms with the saxophone,  more particularly with Axone Quartet for which he has already composed twice:, - Maqâm (Axiomes pour Axone),  a piece of music for saxophone quartet and electroacoustic tape which was created on March 3rd 2002 at the “Cité de la Musique” in Paris., -Axiomes (Maqâm II) which was created on June 9th 2005 at the Czech Centre in Paris and recorded for the first time on this CD by Axone Quartet., The pieces of music he composes are written either for saxophone solo like “10 000 Miles” for soprano sax,  bass sax and electroacoustic device in 2000,  or for saxophone ensemble like “Livres doubles” written for violin,  soprano sax and piano in 2000,  and also “La part féminine des voi(es/x) épistolaires” for soprano sax,  alto sax,  cello and tape in 2010,  or else with an orchestra like in “Triptyque” for ensemble with electroacoustic device,  tenor sax and trumpet solo in 2003.

    Axiomes (Maqâm II) : 2005, In ”Axioms” the saxophone quartet is conceived like a one and only instrument which builds and develops itself around its four constituent personalities. , What could be a better achievement for a chamber formation than make its singularities sound like one and only voice,  breath and gesture spreading out all along the piece of music?, “This piece of music could be compared to a few bottles of good wine in which all the flavours would merge and take one another’s place until they reached their uniqueness. On the initial attack of the alto saxophone,  the other instruments will gradually take root to help reveal new aromatic lines which will set apart then join again,  multiply and then make one again,  sometimes blurred,  sometimes more clearly defined. A few bitter notes will come in contrast with the natural warmth of the saxophones before they find again their initial softness and their few original punctuations like in a long wine tasting.”, Sébastien Béranger.

    Gabriel Pierné : 1863-1937, Gabriel Pierné,  Claude Debussy’s fellow student,  was César Franck’s and Jules Massenet’s pupil. He won first Prize for organ as well as Grand Prix de Rome in 1883. He succeeded César Franck as a permanent organist at Sainte Clothilde loft from 1890 to 1898. However he made himself known mainly as the conductor of the “Concerts Colonne” from 1910 to 1934. If he remains attached to some kind of classicism as a composer,  he will nonetheless be a passionate defender of the music of his time and he will impose Debussy,  Ravel,  Dukas,  Prokovief or Stravinsky in the programmes of his orchestra. All his life long,  Gabriel Pierné’s brilliant career as a conductor will somehow eclipse his composer’s talents to his contemporaries’ eyes. As he was quite prolific,  he will tackle all musical genres (except for the symphony) with a special liking for chamber music.

    Introduction et variations sur une ronde populaire : 1936, Marcel Mule Quartet created this one only original piece of music written for a saxophone quartet by Gabriel Pierné in March 1937 just a few months before its composer’s death. The introduction,  written in a slow and calm spirit,  is furtively interrupted twice by the rondo theme. Then comes a series of ornamental variants,  of developments like in the fugue for example,  and of ornaments,  which are,  each separated by two divertimenti based on a motif borrowed from the introduction., The ronde populaire,  just like in his Ramuntcho,  ouverture sur des thèmes populaires basques,  illustrates how keen Gabriel Pierné was on regional traditional music,  just like Erik Satie or “The Group of Six”. It expresses some kind of joviality and its writing is so light that from beginning to end it maintains a smiling discretion which never goes beyond good taste.

    Régis Campo : 1968, Régis Campo was a student in writing and composition with Georges Bœuf and Jacques Charpentier at Marseilles Conservatory,  his home town. He also studied philosophy at Aix- en- Provence Arts Faculty. He went on further studies at Paris CNMSD in Alain Bancquart‘s and Gérard Grisey’s class where he won first Prize in composition in 1995. While in Paris,  he met great independent composers such as Henri Dutilleux and Edison Denisov who said he considered him as one of the most gifted of his generation. His style,  intentionally playful and energetic,  and his music full of humour and colours diverge from the great aesthetic twentieth century trends by laying emphasis on melodic invention and very energetic tempi. Stravinsky,  Mozart,  Rameau,  but also Messiaen,  Lutoslawski and Mahler serve him as examples.  In 1996 Régis Campo wins the Dutch Prize of the Gaudeamus Foundation for his work Commedia. In the same year,  his brass quintet Exsultate jubilate wins three prizes in Henri Dutilleux competition.  In 1999 he is awarded Hervé Dugardin Prize by the SACEM and Pierre Cardin Prize by The French Academy of Beaux –Arts. He now teaches composition at Marseilles CRR.

    Tintamarre : 2006, The etymology of the French word “tintamarre” is strange: originally,  a duke learnt that his winegrowers worked up to 16 hours a day,  which he found excessive. So he ordered them to stop working every day when they heard a signal that they would spread along from vine to vine by hitting their ploughing tool with a stone,  which made the metal ring (“tinter” in French)., Tintamarre is here a cycle of pieces of music for saxophone quartet,  commissioned by Axone Quartet,  created on March 17th 2007 in Calais and recorded on this CD for the first time by Axone quartet. After Rondo,  Zapp’art,  Flash,  Plume and my recent Sonneries-fanfares composed for Paris  “Nuit Blanche” (2006),  the saxophone has become one of my favourite instruments thanks to Claude Delangle in particular and his brilliant students at Paris Conservatoire. Tintamarre is the concrete expression of a theatrical dimension around this instrument: I took back the idea of saxophones being multifaceted characters,  an idea which I had already developed these past few years. The four musicians are by turns clowns,  jazzmen,  street or town musicians,  either when festivities begin or when they finish.”, Régis Campo, Tintamarre is built around four movements: the first two ones,  fast and lively,  lead two a rather slower third movement with a work on the technique of the “bisbigliando”- a quick sequence of two different fingerings at the same or almost the same pitch. The fourth and last movement takes back the previous ideas and meets with the jazz universe,  like in the second movement

    Sylvain Griotto : 1974, Sylvain Griotto was born in Alès (Gard/ France) in 1974. He studied the piano and composition in Christophe de Coudenhove’s class at Montpellier CRR. He went on further studies in Paris with Claude Ballif then joined Marco Stroppa’s class at Paris CNSMD where he won First Prize for composition in 2003., At the same time he worked as a piano accompanist for various singers and in numerous classical and contemporary dancing classes,  more particularly at CNSMDP where he taught choregraphic accompaniment from 2008 to 2011. He composes instrumental pieces of music (from duet to orchestra),  electroacoustic pieces of music and songs and collaborates as a pianist and keyboard player with artists such as Benoit Guivarch (Carp) and Babet (Dyonisos). Since his fellowship with Gurvan Péron at Montpellier Conservatory then at Paris CNSMD,  Sylvain Griotto has developed a strong link with the saxophone,  which is very present in several of his works:, - Virus D the composer’s second piece of music written in 1996 for 7 instruments (among which an alto saxophone) and electronic device. , - Vous n’allez pas l’appeler Blaise ?! written in 2002 for Tenor saxophone and soprano voice., - Je ne suis pas venu(e) seul(e) written in 2004 for soprano saxophone and accordion, - 35 a piece of music for orchestra., One of the major characteristic signs of Sylvain Griotto’s music is unquestionably the way he diverts the instruments from their original tone,  world and usual language by borrowing popular cultural elements. In 35 (an allusion to the 35 working hours reform),  he transforms the orchestra into a mob of street demonstrators chanting protest slogans,  whereas in Vous n’allez pas l’appeler Blaise ?!,  the tenor saxophone copies the intonations of Louis de Funès’s lines in the film Oscar. This way of working on the musical material is a true way of living music beyond its mere writing,  as the composer himself sums it up: “I like improbable worlds and superpositions and those bizarre musical effects around us which generate so much poetry and humour.” , Sylvain Griotto

    Les fils du métal : 2005, Les fils du métal was created on June 9th 2005 at the Czech Centre (Paris) and recorded on this CD for the first time by Axone Quartet. This piece of music transforms the “acoustic” musicians in an electric and electrifying “Garage Band”,  thus giving to the quartet the various tones of saturated guitar but also the behaviours and musical reflexes attached to that instrument. The piece of music begins with the unusual 2 sopranos-2 barytons formation: very short sentences raging around from half a second to half a minute,  followed by more or less lasting silent lapses. The harmony between low-pitched fingerless fifths “polluted” by the multiphonic sounds of the two sopranos creates both an obsessional and demonstrative impression which can be found in Heavy Metal. , The second part will rather sound like blues,  a source of inspiration for Heavy Metal musicians. In the stage version,  before his solo,  the tenor saxophone player must entirely set up his instrument shut in its case beforehand. He will do so on stage,  taking all his time like a diva and without caring a hoot about the two poor barytons who patiently have to play the accompaniment rhythm until he is ready. A breathless series of fifths will lead us to the beginning of the third part,  with a flashback to traditional quartet. Starting from silence,  a rock ballad builds itself up step by step: after a long hesitation between two untempered tonalities,  it gradually settles on a more traditional progression which more and more intensifies until the final screaming climax., 

    No customer comments for the moment.

    Write your review

    Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

    Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

    Axone Saxophone Quartet - French music for saxophone quartet

    Write your review

Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

Axone Saxophone Quartet- Musique Française pour Quatuor de Saxophones

INDE053

15,00 €

Ajouter au panier


Prévenez-moi lorsque le produit est disponible

En achetant ce produit vous pouvez gagner jusqu'à 1 point de fidélité. Votre panier totalisera 1 point pouvant être transformé(s) en un bon de réduction de 0,50 €.

30 autres produits dans la même catégorie :

En savoir plus

Voyageant à travers tous les répertoires, des transcriptions aux œuvres originales pour quatuor de saxophones, Axone interprète la musique d’aujourd’hui avec un enthousiasme toujours communicatif, inspirant naturellement de nombreux compositeurs de talent, dont Régis Campo, Sébastien Béranger, ou encore Sylvain Griotto. 

Eugène Bozza

Andante et scherzo

1. Andante 4’33

2. Scherzo 2’56

 

Sébastien Béranger

3. Axiomes (Maqâm II) 8’02

 

Gabriel Pierné

4. Introduction et Variations sur une Ronde populaire8’37

 

Régis Campo

Tintamarre

5. I Vivace 3’42

6. II Presto 3’28

7. III Poco Allegro 4’03

8. IV Allegro Vivace 6’12

 

Sylvain Griotto

9-11. Les Fils du Métal 12’34

 

Commentaires

  • Programme du disque
  • Livret complet
  • Musique Française pour Quatuor de Saxophones

    Eugène Bozza

    Andante et scherzo

    1. Andante 4’33

    2. Scherzo 2’56

     

    Sébastien Béranger

    3. Axiomes (Maqâm II) 8’02

     

    Gabriel Pierné

    4. Introduction et Variations sur une Ronde populaire8’37

     

    Régis Campo

    Tintamarre

    5. I Vivace 3’42

    6. II Presto 3’28

    7. III Poco Allegro 4’03

    8. IV Allegro Vivace 6’12

     

    Sylvain Griotto

    9-11. Les Fils du Métal 12’34

     

    Le quatuor Axone, Constitué autour d’une passion commune pour la musique du XXème siècle,  le quatuor de saxophones Axone rassemble depuis 1998 quatre jeunes musiciens issus de la classe de Claude Delangle au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris,  occasion pour le quatuor de profiter des conseils de grands musiciens spécialistes de la musique de chambre : David Walter,  Pierre-Laurent Aimard,  Lazlo Hadady,  Michel Moraguès…, Le quatuor Axone se fait remarquer dans plusieurs concours: il obtient le Deuxième Prix du Concours Européen « Musiques d’Ensemble » de la FNAPEC  en 2002,  le Premier Prix du Forum Musical de Normandie en 2004,  et le Premier Prix du concours de musique de chambre d’Almere aux Pays-Bas en 2005., Il est invité dans divers festivals de musique de chambre en France (festival de Musique de Dinard-Côte d’Emeraude, festival Jeunes Talents, festival du Comminges, festival d’Agde, Nouveaux Talents de Villers-sur-Mer, les Grandes Heures de Saint-Emilion…) ainsi qu’à l’étranger (Monténégro, Niger, Nigeria…). Il se produit également lors des journées de la composition au Conservatoire de Paris en 2001 et 2005,  sur les ondes des radios françaises (France Musique, Radio Classique) et néerlandaises,  ainsi qu’au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam à l’occasion du festival Uitmarkt., Le quatuor Axone obtient en 2002 le premier prix à l’unanimité de musique de chambre du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris. En 2003,  il y intègre à l’unanimité le cycle de perfectionnement. Voyageant à travers tous les répertoires,  des transcriptions aux œuvres originales pour quatuor de saxophones,  Axone interprète la musique d’aujourd’hui avec un enthousiasme toujours communicatif,  suscitant naturellement de nombreuses créations (Luis Naón, Juraj Valcuha, Fabien Lévy, Paul Frankhuijzen, Régis Campo, Sébastien Béranger, Sylvain Griotto, Julien Dassié, Antonin Servière…)., Lauréat de la fondation Meyer en 2005,  le quatuor Axone enregistre à cette occasion son premier CD dans la collection «Jeunes Solistes» du Conservatoire avec un programme d’œuvres originales (Florent Schmitt, Fuminori Tanada, Juraj Valcuha) ainsi que la transcription du Quatuor à cordes n°8 en ut mineur (op. 110) de Dmitri Chostakovitch. Le quatuor figure également sur une monographie consacrée au compositeur Thierry Escaich,  à travers l’interprétation de son quatuor de saxophones Le bal,  paru sur le label Indésens.

     

    Musique(s) Française, Quatuor Axone

    Eugène Bozza : 1905-1991, Né à Nice en 1905,  Eugène Bozza commence tôt l’étude du violon sous la direction de son père,  avant d’obtenir les premiers prix de violon (1924),  de direction d’orchestre (1930) et de composition (1934) au Conservatoire de Paris. Il reçoit la même année le premier Grand Prix de Rome. Chef d’orchestre de l’Opéra Comique à Paris de 1939 à 1948,  il est nommé à la tête du Conservatoire de Valenciennes de 1950 à 1975,  ville où il créera la majeure partie de son œuvre. Il écrit plusieurs opéras,  des symphonies,  des ballets,  mais il doit sa renommée mondiale à ses nombreuses œuvres de musique de chambre,  privilégiant les instruments à vent tel que le saxophone.

    Andante et scherzo : 1938, Tout comme l’Introduction et variations sur une ronde populaire de Gabriel Pierné,  Andante et scherzo est dédié au quatuor de Marcel Mule. D’esprit très Français,  cette œuvre en deux mouvements contrastés fait la part belle aux multiples facettes de l’instrument d’Adolphe Sax et n’est pas sans rappeler,  par moments,  la couleur et la finesse d’écriture des quatuors à cordes d’un Debussy ou d’un Ravel.

    Sébastien Béranger : 1977, Né à Reims en 1977,  Sébastien Béranger réalise ses études musicales aux Conservatoires à Rayonnement Régional de Reims et de Lille. Il entre par la suite dans la classe de composition au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris et étudie avec Emmanuel Nunes,  Michaël Levinas,  Yann Geslin,  Luis Naón et Michelle Réverdy. Il y obtiendra les prix d’analyse et de composition,  ainsi qu’un cursus en nouvelles technologies appliquées à la composition., Parallèlement,  Sébastien Béranger obtient un DEA en esthétique et sciences de l’art à l’université de Lille III sur « Le spectre et la réalité acoustique générateurs d’échelles courbes dans la musique du XXe siècle » et un doctorat en musicologie à l’université de Nice (UNSA) sur « Les espaces paramétriques dans la musique instrumentale depuis 1950 » sous la direction d’Antoine Bonnet. Il poursuit ses recherches,  par le biais des mathématiques,  sur la sémiotique musicale,  sur la génération du matériau en conceptualisant le sonore par la représentation graphique. Il synthétise,  confronte,  fusionne les idiomes de la musique spectrale,  du postsérialisme et des tendances postmodales. À la manière d’un sculpteur,  il travaille sur l’espace comme représentation métaphorique des différentes échelles musicales (hauteurs, durées, épaisseurs du son). Premier lauréat de la Fondation Internationale Lili et Nadia Boulanger,  il s’illustre dans de nombreux concours européens et est sélectionné pour le 3ème Forum international des Jeunes Compositeurs de l’ensemble Aleph. Responsable de la pédagogie et de la recherche à La Muse en Circuit,  il mène des actions de sensibilisation à la musique électroacoustique. Il entretient un rapport privilégié avec le saxophone et plus particulièrement avec le quatuor Axone pour lequel il a déjà écrit à deux reprises:, - Maqâm (Axiomes pour Axone) pour quatuor de saxophones et bande électroacoustique,  créée le 03/05/2002 à la Cité de la Musique (Paris). Axiomes (Maqâm II) créée le 09 juin 2005 au centre Tchèque (Paris) et enregistrée pour la première fois sur ce disque par le quatuor Axone., Il utilise le saxophone aussi bien en solo (10 000 Miles pour sax soprano/sax basse et dispositif électroacoustique en 2000) qu’en ensemble (Livres doubles pour violon, sax soprano et piano en 2000; La part féminine des voi(es/x) épistolaires pour sax soprano, alto, violoncelle et support en 2010) ou encore devant l’orchestre (Triptyque pour grand ensemble avec dispositif électroacoustique, sax ténor et trompette solo en 2003). ,

    Axiomes (Maqâm II) : 2005, « Dans «Axiomes»,  le quatuor de saxophones est conçu tel un seul et unique instrument qui se construit et se développe autour de ses quatre personnalités constitutives. Quoi de plus réussi pour une formation de chambre que de faire oublier ses singularités pour ne sonner que d’une seule voix ? d’un seul souffle ? d’un seul geste qui se déploie tout au long de la pièce ? Cette pièce pourrait être comparée à quelques bonnes bouteilles. Tous les arômes fusionnent et se succèdent afin de former leur unicité. Sur l’attaque primitive du saxophone alto vont de greffer peu à peu les autres instruments pour dévoiler de nouvelles lignes aromatiques qui s’échappent et se rejoignent,  se démultiplient puis se réunissent,  parfois floues puis clairement assumées. Quelques notes amères contrastent avec la chaleur naturelle des saxophones avant de revenir à la douceur initiale et aux quelques ponctuations primitives du début,  telle une longue dégustation. », Sébastien Béranger

    Gabriel Pierné : 1863-1937, Elève de César Franck et de Jules Massenet,  condisciple et ami de Claude Debussy au Conservatoire de Paris,  Gabriel Pierné reçoit un premier prix d’orgue ainsi que le Grand prix de Rome en 1883. Il succède à Franck en tant qu’organiste titulaire à la tribune de Sainte-Clothilde de 1890 à 1898,  mais se fera essentiellement connaître en tant que chef d’orchestre des Concerts Colonne de 1910 à 1934. S’il reste attaché à un certain classicisme en tant que compositeur,  il n’en sera pas moins un ardent défenseur de la musique de son temps,  imposant les œuvres de Debussy,  Ravel,  Dukas,  Prokovief ou Stravinsky aux programmes de son orchestre. Tout au long de sa vie,  la brillante carrière de chef d’orchestre Gabriel Pierné éclipsera quelque peu ses talents de compositeur auprès de ses contemporains. Particulièrement prolifique,  il abordera tous les genres (hormis la symphonie) avec une prédilection pour la musique de chambre.

    Introduction et variations sur une ronde populaire : 1936, Seule œuvre originale écrite pour quatuor de saxophones par Gabriel Pierné,  elle fut créée en mars 1937 par le quatuor Marcel Mule quelques mois avant la mort du compositeur. Le caractère de l’introduction est lent et posé,  furtivement interrompu deux fois par le thème du rondo. Elle est suivie par une série de variantes décoratives,  d’amplifications (comme par exemple la fugue) et d’ornements,  toutes séparées par deux divertissements basés sur un motif emprunté à l’introduction. Comme dans son Ramuntcho,  ouverture sur des thèmes populaires basques,  la ronde populaire démontre l’intérêt de Gabriel Pierné (comme celui d’Erik Satie ou du Groupe des Six) pour les musiques traditionnelles régionales.

    Régis Campo : 1968, Après des études d’écriture et de composition auprès de Georges Boeuf et Jacques Charpentier au conservatoire de Marseille,  sa ville natale,  ainsi que de philosophie à la faculté de Lettres d’Aix-en-Provence,  Régis Campo poursuit ses études au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris dans les classes d’Alain Bancquart et de Gérard Grisey où il obtient un Premier prix de composition en 1995. Il rencontre alors à Paris de grands compositeurs indépendants comme Edison Denisov,  qui le considère alors comme « l’un des plus doués de sa génération »,  ou encore Henri Dutilleux., Son style,  volontairement ludique et énergique,  et sa musique,  remplie d’humour et de couleurs,  s’écartent des grands courants esthétiques du XXème siècle en mettant l’accent sur l’invention mélodique et sur une grande vitalité des tempi. Stravinsky,  Mozart,  Rameau mais aussi Messiaen,  Lutoslawski et Mahler sont ses modèles. Régis Campo reçoit en 1996 le prix hollandais de la Fondation Gaudeamus pour son œuvre Commedia. La même année,  son quintette de cuivres Exsultate jubilate reçoit trois prix au concours Henri Dutilleux. En 1999,  la Sacem lui décerne le Prix Hervé Dugardin et l’Académie des Beaux-Arts – Institut de France –,  le Prix Pierre Cardin. De 1999 à 2001,  Régis Campo est pensionnaire à la Villa Médicis,  Académie de France à Rome. Il enseigne actuellement la composition au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Marseille.,

    Tintamarre : 2006, L’étymologie du mot tintamarre est curieuse : à l’origine,  un duc apprit que ses vignerons travaillaient jusqu’à seize heures par jour,  ce qu’il trouvait excessif. Il leur ordonna de cesser le travail chaque jour au signal que propageraient les vignerons de vigne en vigne en « tintant » avec une pierre « dessus leur mare »,  leur instrument de labour., Tintamarre est ici un cycle de pièces pour quatuor de saxophones,  commande du quatuor Axone,  créée le 17 mars 2007 à Calais et pour la première fois enregistré sur ce disque par le quatuor Axone., « Après Rondo,  Zapp’art,  Flash,  Plume et mes récentes Sonneries-fanfares composées pour la Nuit blanche de Paris (2006),  le saxophone est devenu l’un de mes instruments favoris grâce notamment à Claude Delangle et à ses brillants élèves du Conservatoire de Paris. Tintamarre est la concrétisation de toute une théâtralisation autour de cet instrument : j’ai repris l’idée de saxophones personnages aux multiples facettes que j’avais élaborée au cours de ces dernières années. Les quatre musiciens sont tour à tour clowns,  jazzmen,  musiciens de rue,  de ville,  de fête mais aussi de fin de fête. » , Régis Campo, Quatre mouvements composent Tintamarre : les deux premiers,  rapides et alertes,  amènent à un troisième mouvement assez lent,  avec un travail sur la technique du bisbigliando – enchaînement rapide de deux doigtés différents jouant une même hauteur ou presque – le quatrième et dernier mouvement reprend toutes les idées précédentes et rejoint,  comme le 2ème mouvement,  l’univers du jazz.,

    Sylvain Griotto : 1974, Sylvain Griotto est né à Alès (Gard) en 1974. Après des études de piano et de composition dans la classe de Christophe de Coudenhove au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Montpellier,  il poursuit ses études à Paris avec Claude Ballif puis au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris dans la classe de Marco Stroppa où il obtient un 1er prix de composition en 2003.  Il exerce parallèlement son métier de pianiste accompagnateur auprès de différents chanteurs,  ainsi qu’auprès de nombreuses classes de danse classique et contemporaine,  notamment au CNSMDP où il a enseigné l’accompagnement chorégraphique entre 2008 et 2011. Il compose des musiques instrumentales (du duo à l’orchestre),  des pièces électroacoustiques,  des chansons et collabore en tant que pianiste et clavier avec des artistes tels que Benoît Guivarch (Carp) ainsi que Babet (Dionysos). Condisciple de Gurvan Péron au CRR de Montpellier puis au CNSMD de Paris,  il entretient depuis longtemps un lien fort avec le saxophone,  très présent dans plusieurs de ses œuvres : , - Virus D deuxième pièce du compositeur en 1996,  pour 7 instruments (dont un sax alto) et électronique, - Vous n’allez pas l’appeler Blaise ?! en 2002 pour sax ténor et voix de soprano., - Je ne suis pas venu(e) seul(e) en 2004 pour sax soprano et accordéon., - 35 pour orchestre , L’une des caractéristiques majeures de la musique de Sylvain Griotto est sans conteste sa façon bien particulière de détourner les instruments de leur sonorité,  de leur univers,  de leur langage habituel en empruntant des éléments culturels populaires. Dans 35 (référence à la réforme des 35 heures),  il transforme l’orchestre en foule de manifestants scandant des slogans revendicatifs alors que dans Vous n’allez pas l’appeler Blaise !?,  il prête au saxophone ténor les intonations des répliques de Louis de Funès dans le film Oscar. Cette manière de travailler le matériau musical est réellement une manière de vivre la musique au-delà même de son écriture et se trouve très bien résumée par le compositeur lui-même : , «J’aime les univers décalés,  les superpositions improbables et toutes sortes de bizarreries musicales qui nous entourent,  toujours à l’écoute de la poésie et de l’humour qui s’en dégagent. » Sylvain Griotto ,  

    Les fils du métal : 2005, Créé le 09 juin 2005 au centre Tchèque (Paris) et enregistré pour la première fois sur ce disque par le quatuor Axone,  Les fils du métal transforme les instrumentistes « acoustiques », en un « Garage band » électrique et électrisant,  transposant au quatuor les différentes sonorités de la guitare saturée mais aussi les comportements et réflexes musicaux liés à cet instrument.  L’œuvre débute par la formation inhabituelle de 2 sopranos et 2 barytons où se déchaînent de très courtes phrases qui peuvent aller d’une demi-seconde à une demi-minute,  séparées par des silences plus ou moins longs. L’harmonie faite de quintes à vide graves « polluées » par les multiphoniques des 2 sopranos donne une impression à la fois obsessionnelle et démonstrative que l’on trouve dans le heavy métal., La 2ème partie sera plus dirigée vers le blues (source d’influence du métal). Dans la version scénique,  le saxophone Ténor doit,  avant son solo,  monter entièrement son instrument enfermé au préalable dans sa caisse en prenant tout son temps,  tel une diva,  sans se soucier de la fatigue des 2 Barytons qui jouent le rythme d’accompagnement en attendant son arrivée. S’ensuit une bataille d’ego entre plusieurs solistes qui occasionne de vertigineux changements de tempo. Un haletant cycle des quintes nous mène au début de la 3ème partie,  avec un retour au quatuor traditionnel. Partant du silence,  une ballade rock se construit pas à pas,  elle hésite longtemps entre 2 tonalités non tempérées,  avant de s’installer sur une progression plus traditionnelle qui monte en puissance jusqu’au cri final.

    Aucun commentaire n'a été publié pour le moment.

    Donner votre avis

    Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

    Pierné, Campo, Bozza, Béranger

    Axone Saxophone Quartet- Musique Française pour Quatuor de Saxophones

    Donner votre avis