Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

Duo Résonances

CAL1317

15,00 €

Add to cart


Notify me when available

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 loyalty point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of 0,50 €.

30 other products in the same category:

More info

The works on this disc are travel stories, real or imaginary, of which Spain is the heart. Duo Resonances  interprets them with their magnificent qualities: musicality, virtuosity, originality in the choice of repertoire and, above all, the great artistic collaboration that unites them and can be heard in each of their interpretations.

 

Duo Resonances - Frédérique Luzy and Pierre Bibault - is a French guitar duo based in Brussels, which has won several international competitions: Olsztyn - Poland (2010),  Fondation Bellan - Paris (2011), Luigi Mozzani - Italy (2011 ) and first prize at the International Competition of Chamber Music in Montalto - Italy (2011).

The two musicians have performed on many international stages - Belgium, Canada, Spain, France, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine - in prestigious venues such as the Philharmonic Lviv, Khmelnitskie and the Museum of Vinnitsa (Ukraine), the Cathedral and the Musée d’Art Contemporain in Liège, the Tyska Kyrkan Stockholm, the Chapel Bon-Pasteur of Quebec, or Flagey, formerly Maison de la Radio Nationale de Belgique in Brussels.

Frédérique Luzy & Pierre Bibault have shared many festivals with renowned artists such as Anne Sofie von Otter, Odaïr Assad, Zoran Dukic, the Ensemble Itinéraire, and have played for the Quebec TV or Radio 4, the Dutch National Classic Radio.

Approached by contemporary composers, Frédérique Luzy and Pierre Bibault are particularly devoted to enriching the program for two guitars by emphasizing the creative aspect. In the program, original and unpublished transcriptions (Alberto Ginastera, Enrique Granados, Domenico Scarlatti), widely acclaimed by the public and professionals, can also be found.

Their curiosity leads them to collaborate with the art world in innovative projects that transport their music beyond the concert hall. This richness and openness allow Duo Resonances to be recognized by the Department of Cultural Diffusion of the French Community of Belgium.

In this first disc, they deliver a subtle and personal vision of a smart and brilliantly interpreted program that immerses the listener in the heart of Spanish and Argentinan music and dance.

 

Duo Resonances - Frédérique Luzy & Pierre Bibault

Guitars Jim Redgate, Australia (2007), strings: D’Addario and Pyramid

www.duoresonances.com

contact@duoresonances.com


Comments

  • Booklet
  • T

    he works on this disc are travel stories, real or imaginary, at the heart of which is Spain.

    Composer of the Baroque era, Domenico Scarlatti settled in Madrid, after a Neapolitan success and a detour to the court of the King of Portugal. Professor of the Infanta, he followed her when she became Queen of Spain, taking possession of a court he then never left.  

    A century later, Enrique Granados and Federico Mompou took a very different direction. After their early musical training, they left Barcelona for Paris, the capital of the Arts, where they met the most famous composers, both French and Spanish! Mompou stayed for twenty years before returning to his hometown in his late forties, where he lived for nearly another half a century. Granados‘ life was shorter. In 1916, aged forty-eight, the composer went to New York to witness the triumph of his opera Goyescas. In full glory, he was then invited to give a concert at the White House. But when returning to France, as his boat was approaching the French coast, it was torpedoed by a German submarine.

    For Ginastera and Piazzolla, the journey began even before birth. Both Argentinian, Ginastera was born from a Catalan father and an Italian mother, and Piazzolla from Italian parents. They received an early European education, particularly Spanish. Alberto Ginastera completed his education in New York with Copland before returning to compose and teach in Argentina. Among his many students, the most famous was Astor Piazzolla, who worked under his direction for five years before winning a scholarship to study with Nadia Boulanger in Fontainebleau.

     

    H

    owever, Spain is ever present in their works. Scarlatti’s have essentially a baroque style, present in Europe at his time. We find the taste for dances that were in vogue - near jitter (K 9), walking (308 K) and passepied (K 430) - all with their binary cutting times, their typical modulation at the end of the first part and a return to the main tone to finish. Granados‘ Valses poeticos have quite the same style. Their spirit certainly owes a lot to a Spanish influence, but also finds its essence in gentle salons and Romanticism of the nineteenth century.

    The aesthetics of Mompou are quite different, attracted by the folk melodies that he sometimes quotes or reinvents freely. In Cançons i Dances, form and style show the popular alternating melancholic melodies, preludes to more lively dances. The composer often renounces romantic elements in favor of those stemming from folklore: lack of development, and even modulation, and focus on the expressiveness of the melodic line and the way in which it is set.

    In contrast, the language of Ginastera refuses both chromaticism and the wealth of harmonies to create one of the most representative musics of South America. Considered as one of the most important composers of his generation, he kept in his suite Danzas Criollas particular South American musical features - well audible in the finale  - while adding to them a technique inherited from European tradition.

    Similary for Piazzolla, whose fate joined Argentinian tango, slum dances accepted by the Argentine high society only after being adopted and, somehow, refined by Paris. Upon his arrival with Nadia Boulanger, deciding to get rid of his mass influences, Piazzolla showed the great teacher only his pieces   of academic inspiration: 

    «One day, Nadia Boulanger told me that everything I showed her was well written, but she couldn’t discern the spirit. She asked me what kind of music I played in my country.» Piazzolla only admitted this  carefully hidden tanguero «past» two days later: «Nadia looked me in the eye and asked me to play one of my tangos [...] So I started with Triunfal. I don’t think I had got through half, when Nadia stopped me, took my hands and [...] said: «Astor, this is beautiful, I like it, it is the true Piazzolla, never give up.» And that was the great revelation of my life.» His Tango Suite, of staggering difficulty, shows both his great instrumental mastery - learned from Ginastera - and the adventurous freedom of his writing.

    This suite is the only part directly written for guitar duo.

    The other works on this disc are transcripts, almost all from Frederique Luzy and Pierre Bibault themselves, and the pleasant surprise of their first record is to discover the care and skills that they show. Transcribing is not copying and must consider the new instrument, transposing sometimes to find the best tone. Duo Resonances does this with great skill, using all the resources of the guitar in the right place. Their ample sound is more grating when playing near the bridge,  violent in the rasguedo - often violent accords in Spanish music - or delicate and ethereal in the melodies and chords played in harmonics. Virtuosity spells serve free expression in the choices: natural and artificial harmonic associations produce a range of quite dazzling colours, still enriched by the the possibilities of scordatura  - the different ways to tune instruments, generally to extend towards the bass.

     

    The last voyage from which we hear the influence is from the Duo Resonances themselves. Not the physical travel through their numerous concerts across Europe and beyond, but rather a slow inward journey that allowed them to expand their magnificent qualities: musicality, virtuosity, originality in the selection and, above all, the great artistic complicity that unites them, and which can be heard in each of their interpretations.

     

    Philippe Cathé

    No customer comments for the moment.

    Write your review

    Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

    Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

    Duo Résonances

    Write your review

Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

Duo Résonances

CAL1317

15,00 €

Ajouter au panier


Prévenez-moi lorsque le produit est disponible

En achetant ce produit vous pouvez gagner jusqu'à 1 point de fidélité. Votre panier totalisera 1 point pouvant être transformé(s) en un bon de réduction de 0,50 €.

30 autres produits dans la même catégorie :

En savoir plus

Les œuvres de ce disque sont des récits de voyages, réels ou imaginaires, dont l’Espagne est le cœur. Le Duo Resonances les interprète avec  leurs magnifiques qualités : musicalité, virtuosité, originalité dans le choix du répertoire et, par-dessus tout, la grande complicité artistique qui les unit et qui s’entend dans chacune de leurs interprétations.

Le Duo Resonances – Frédérique Luzy & Pierre Bibault – est un duo de guitares français établi à Bruxelles, qui a remporté plusieurs Prix de Concours Internationaux : Olsztyn - Pologne (2010), Fondation Bellan - Paris (2011), Luigi Mozzani - Italie (2011) et un 1er Prix au Concours International de Musique de Chambre de Montalto - Italie (2011).

Les deux musiciens se produisent sur de nombreuses scènes internationales - Allemagne, Belgique, Canada, Espagne, France, Italie, Maroc, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Suède, Suisse, Ukraine - dans de prestigieuses salles telles que les Philharmoniques de Lviv, de Khmelnitskie et le Musée de Vinnitsa (Ukraine), la Cathédrale et le Musée d’Art Contemporain de Liège, la Tyska Kyrkan de Stockholm, la Chapelle Bon-Pasteur de Québec, ou encore Flagey, ancienne Maison de la Radio Nationale de Belgique à Bruxelles. 

Le duo a partagé l’affiche de nombreux festivals avec des artistes de grande renommée tels qu’Anne Sofie von Otter, Odaïr Assad, Zoran Dukic, l’Ensemble Itinéraire, et a joué pour la télévision Québécoise ou encore Radio 4, la Radio Classique Nationale Néerlandaise. 

Sollicités par les compositeurs actuels, Frédérique Luzy et Pierre Bibault s’attachent tout particulièrement à enrichir le répertoire pour deux guitares en s’orientant vers la création. Au programme, on retrouve également leurs transcriptions originales et inédites (Alberto Ginastera, Enrique Granados, Domenico Scarlatti), largement saluées par le public et les professionnels.

Leur curiosité les amène à collaborer avec le monde artistique au sein de projets novateurs qui portent leur musique au-delà des salles de concert. Cette richesse et cette ouverture d’esprit valent au Duo Resonances d’être reconnu par le Service de la Diffusion Culturelle du Ministère de la Communauté Française de Belgique, dans le cadre des Tournées Art et Vie. 

Dans ce premier disque, ils livrent une vision personnelle et subtile d’un programme intelligent et brillamment interprété, qui plonge l’auditeur au cœur des musiques et des danses d’Espagne et d’Argentine.

 

Duo Resonances - Frédérique Luzy & Pierre Bibault

Guitares Jim Redgate, Australie (2007), cordes D’Addario et Pyramid

www.duoresonances.com

contact@duoresonances.com


  • Livret Complet
  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire n'a été publié pour le moment.

    Donner votre avis

    Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

    Granados, Piazzolla, scarlatti

    Duo Résonances

    Donner votre avis

    L

    es œuvres de ce disque sont des récits de voyages, réels ou imaginaires, dont l’Espagne est le cœur. 

    Compositeur de l’époque baroque, Domenico Scarlatti s’installe à Madrid, après des succès napolitains et un détour par la cour du roi du Portugal. Professeur de l’Infante, il la suit quand elle devient reine d’Espagne, prenant possession d’une cour dont il ne s’éloignera plus guère. 

    Un siècle plus tard, Enrique Granados puis Federico Mompou empruntent un trajet presque inverse. Après leurs premières études musicales, ils quittent Barcelone pour Paris, capitale des arts, où ils fréquentent les plus célèbres compositeurs français… et espagnols ! Mompou y reste vingt ans avant de retourner dans sa ville natale à l’approche de la cinquantaine et y vivre près d’un demi-siècle. La vie de Granados est plus brève. En 1916, le compositeur de quarante-huit ans part à New York pour assister au triomphe de son opéra Goyescas. En pleine gloire, il est ensuite invité à donner un concert à la Maison-Blanche. Mais, au retour, alors que son bateau approche des côtes françaises, il est torpillé par un sous-marin allemand. 

    Pour Ginastera et Piazzolla, le voyage a commencé avant même leur naissance. Tous deux Argentins, ils sont nés, le premier d’un père catalan et d’une mère italienne, le second de parents d’origine italienne. Ils reçoivent une première éducation en partie tournée vers l’Europe, l’Espagne en particulier. Alberto Ginastera la complète à New York auprès de Copland avant de revenir composer et enseigner en Argentine. Parmi ses nombreux élèves, le plus célèbre est Astor Piazzolla qui travaille cinq ans sous sa direction avant de remporter une bourse pour étudier à Fontainebleau avec Nadia Boulanger.

     

    Pour autant, l’Espagne est diversement présente dans leurs œuvres. Celles de Scarlatti portent essentiellement la marque du style baroque décliné dans l’Europe de son temps. On y retrouve le goût pour les danses en vogue – proche de la gigue (K 9), de la marche (K 308) et du passepied (K 430) – toutes avec leur coupe binaire à reprises, leur modulation typique en fin de première partie et le retour au ton principal pour finir. On peut en dire presque autant des Valses poeticos de Granados, dont le caractère est certes redevable à une influence espagnole mais tout autant à la douceur des salons et au Romantisme du XIXe siècle. 

    Toute autre est l’esthétique de Mompou, attiré par les mélodies populaires qu’il cite parfois ou réinvente librement. Dans Cançons i Danses, la forme et le style reprennent l’alternance populaire de mélopées mélancoliques préludant à des danses plus vives. D’une manière souvent radicale, le compositeur renonce aux éléments romantiques au profit de ceux issus du folklore : absence de développement, de modulation même, et concentration sur l’expressivité de la ligne mélodique et du mode dans lequel elle est énoncée. 

    À l’opposé, le langage de Ginastera ne refuse ni le chromatisme ni la richesse des harmonies pour créer une des musiques les plus représentatives de l’Amérique du Sud. Considéré comme l’un des compositeurs les plus importants de sa génération, il garde dans sa Suite de Danzas Criollas les particularités musicales sud-américaines – bien audibles dans le feu d’artifice sonore final – tout en leur adjoignant une technique héritée de la tradition européenne. 

    Il en va de même pour Piazzolla, dont la destinée rejoint celle de tout le tango argentin, danse des bas-quartiers acceptée par la bonne société argentine seulement après avoir été adoptée et, en quelque sorte, adoubée, par Paris. À son arrivée chez Nadia Boulanger, décidé à se débarrasser de ses influences populaires, Piazzolla ne montre à la grande pédagogue que ses pièces d’inspiration savante : « Un jour, Nadia Boulanger me dit enfin que tout ce que je lui avais montré était bien écrit, mais qu’elle n’en trouvait point l’esprit. Elle me demanda quel genre de musique je jouais dans mon pays ». Piazzolla n’avoue ce « passé » soigneusement caché de tanguero que deux jours plus tard : « Nadia me regarda dans les yeux et me demanda de lui jouer un de mes tangos […] Alors, j’ai commencé avec Triunfal. Je crois que je ne suis pas arrivé à la moitié. Nadia m’arrêta, me prit les mains et […] me dit : « Astor, cela est beau, j’aime beaucoup, voilà le vrai Piazzolla, ne l’abandonnez jamais. » Et ce fut la grande révélation de ma vie. » Sa Tango Suite, d’une ahurissante difficulté, montre à la fois sa grande maitrise instrumentale – apprise chez Ginastera – et la liberté aventureuse de son écriture. 

     

    C

    ette suite est la seule pièce directement écrite pour duo de guitares. Les autres œuvres de ce disque sont des transcriptions, presque toutes de Frédérique Luzy et Pierre Bibault eux-mêmes, et c’est une des belles surprises de leur premier enregistrement que de découvrir le soin et le talent qu’ils y montrent. Transcrire n’est pas copier, on doit nécessairement tenir compte du nouvel instrument, transposer parfois pour trouver la meilleure tonalité. Le Duo Resonances le fait avec une grande habileté, utilisant au bon endroit toutes les ressources de la guitare. Leur son ample se fait plus grinçant lorsqu’ils jouent près du chevalet, violent dans le rasguedo – accords souvent rageurs dans la musique espagnole – ou délicat et éthéré dans les mélodies ou les accords joués en harmoniques. Les sortilèges de la virtuosité sont au service de l’expression dans ces choix nullement gratuits et redoutablement arrangés : les mélanges d’harmoniques naturelles et artificielles dans les accords produisent un éventail de couleurs tout à fait éblouissant, encore enrichi des possibilités de scordatura – les différentes manières d’accorder les instruments, généralement pour en étendre la tessiture vers le grave. 

    Le dernier voyage dont nous entendons le résultat est celui du Duo Resonances lui-même. Non les voyages réels qui les ont conduits à donner de nombreux concerts à travers l’Europe et au-delà, mais ce lent voyage intérieur qui leur a permis d’approfondir leurs magnifiques qualités : musicalité, virtuosité, originalité dans le choix du répertoire et, par-dessus tout, la grande complicité artistique qui les unit et qui s’entend dans chacune de leurs interprétations.

     

    Philippe Cathé